Indiana to play Utah in Foster Farms Bowl

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana (6-6, 4-5 B1G East) will face Utah (8-4, 5-4 Pac-12 South) in the 2016 Foster Farms Bowl, it was announced this afternoon. The game will be held at Levi’s Stadium on Wednesday, Dec. 28, with an 8:30 p.m. ET kickoff on FOX Sports.


“Our team is thrilled to play in the Foster Farms Bowl,” IU Vice President and Director of Athletics Fred Glass said. “Making a second straight bowl game is an enormous milestone for the program and our students will enjoy going against a high caliber opponent in the Utah Utes. We can’t wait to bring Hoosier Nation to the Bay Area on December 28th to compete in one of the most beautiful areas of the country. Coach Allen just told the team and they are excited for the opportunity to become Foster Farms Bowl Champions.”


The Hoosiers will be making their 11th bowl appearance, their second consecutive and their first at the Foster Farms Bowl. IU last made back-to-back postseason appearances in 1990-91. 


“We’re excited to be able to go to the Foster Farms Bowl in California to play the Utah Utes,” Indiana head coach Tom Allen said. “It’s a great opportunity for us to match up against another great conference in this country in the Pac-12 and play one of their better teams. The Hoosiers are fired up to be heading west.”


Indiana and Utah will meet for the third time and the first time since 2002. IU earned its victory in 1975, while the Utes collected wins in 2001 and 2002.


The Hoosiers have played two postseason games in the state of California. Indiana defeated BYU (38-37) in the 1979 Holiday Bowl and fell to USC (14-3) in the 1968 Rose Bowl.


This year marks the 11th time in school history IU has recorded back-to-back years with six-or-more wins and the first time since 1993-94.


It is the 16th time the Hoosiers have reached four Big Ten victories and the first time since 2001 (4-4). The four conference wins are tied for the eighth-most in program history.


Indiana earned its fourth straight Old Oaken Bucket victory, tied for the longest streak in program history (1944-47).


IU won the Old Oaken Bucket and the Old Brass Spittoon in the same year for the fifth time (1967, 1991, 1993, 2001, 2016).