Festival of Gingerbread winners announced

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) – Gingerbread creations of all types are set up at the History Center downtown for the 2016 Festival of Gingerbread. Judges surveyed this year’s creations Saturday.

The festival officially opens Nov. 25 and runs through Dec. 11. Click here for hours and special events to take place during the festival. 

Admission to the 2016 Festival of Gingerbread is $6 for adults, $4 for persons 65 and older and children ages 3 to 17. Children 2 and younger get in free. History Center members do not have to pay admission. A ticket to the festival also includes a visit to the entire museum.

NewsChannel 15’s Terra Brantley was judge for the 2016 Festival of Gingerbread.

The festival winners are listed below:

PreK-2nd Individual

1st   Gwendolyn Davis

2nd  Jeff Fletcher

3rd   Becca Beer


PreK-2nd Group

1st   George and Audra Estabrook

2nd  St. Vincent American Heritage Girls Tenderheart Squad

3rd   St Joseph Hessen Cassel 2nd Grade


3rd through 6th Individual

1st   Grace Johnson

2nd   Cameron Willwerth

3rd   Leila Niblick


3rd through 6th Group

1st Girl Scout Troop #00367

2nd Pack 3430

3rd Huntington American Heritage Girls IN2435


Teen Individual

1st  Katlyn Setser

2nd  Austin Johnson

3rd   Allison Bear


Teen Group

1st  Abby Smith and Alia Davis

2nd  Girl Scout Troop 20912  #2

3rd St. Vincent American Heritage Girls Pi/Pa Squad


Adult Individual

1st   Karen Peters

2nd   Sue Courtney

3rd   Danielle Oliver


Adult Group

1st Byron Health Center

2nd The Helman Family

3rd  Lee Powers, Jennifer Grush, Nikki Fawcett



1st  The Scheele Family

2nd  The Johnson Family

3rd  The Spees Family



1st   Jayne Oliver

2nd   Rebecca Berry and Mary Bailey

3rd   Country Kitchen Sweet Art



Youth:   Lacey Johnson

Adult:    The  Scheele Family