Huntington County Honors inducts 25

Huntington County Honors induction ceremony at the rotunda of the Huntington County Courthouse on Sat. Oct. 22, 2016.

HUNTINGTON, Ind. (WANE) – The inaugural class of Huntington County Honors includes 25 people.

The new organization was created by Huntington native Joe Santa who developed the idea of a hall of fame to honor the best of Huntington County’s history.

The 25 selected for the first class were formally inducted Saturday at a ceremony at the Huntington County Courthouse.

“We wanted to create something that went beyond the normal definition of a hall of fame, which tends to have more of a sports connotation,” said Santa in a statement. “We wanted to recognize individuals from all walks of life. We saw it as an opportunity not only to recognize them personally, but also hold them up for all of us to take pride in as a community.”

The process to select individuals and formalize the group started in 2014. Inductees are grouped into five categories: historical, community and public service, business and professional, humanities and culture, and athletics and recreation.

A display featuring the 2016 class will be on display at the Huntington City-Township Public Library beginning in November. More information about Huntington County Honors can be found at this website:

Class of 2016:


  • Chief Francis LaFontaine
  • Lambdin P. Milligan
  • J. Danforth Quayle
  • Chief Jean Baptiste de Richardville
  • J. Edward Roush


  • Jacob L. Brenn
  • Don Purviance
  • Alvin and Clara Schenkel Family
  • James Shuttleworth
  • Welcome Weaver


  • Jean Gernand
  • Marj Hiner
  • Father Ron Rieder
  • Arthur Sapp
  • Gene Snowden


  • Bob Hammel
  • Archbishop John F. Noll
  • Eiffel Plasterer
  • Chris Schenkel
  • Cynthia Smyth-Wartzok


  • Mark “Mickey” Erehart
  • Glen Hummer
  • Ralph “Boag” Johnson
  • Steve Platt
  • Robert Straight