Komets announce season-opening roster

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Komets announced today their season-opening roster for 2016-17.  The roster of 21 players includes 11 forwards (one on call-up), seven defensemen, two goaltenders.


Forwards— Taylor Crunk, Mason Baptista, Mike Cazzola, Mike Embach, Shawn Szydlowski, Jamie Schaafsma, Kyle Thomas, David Freidmann, Garrett Thompson, Brady Vail and Brent Tate.  Trevor Cheek is on call-up with the AHL’s Tucson Roadrunners.


Defensemen— Gabriel Beaupre, Jason Binkley, Curtis Leonard, Bobby Shea, Dan Milan, Will Weber and Cody Sol.


Goaltenders— Pat Nagle and Eric Hartzell.


The Komets will start the season with a home-and-home series against the Quad City Mallards.  Friday the Komets faceoff against the Mallards at Quad City at 8:05pm ET.

Saturday the Komets will launch their 65th anniversary home campaign at 7:30pm against Quad City.  Fans are encouraged to be in their seats early for pregame festivities.
Komets on the air— Komet games are scheduled to air this season on WOWO AM 1190 and FM 107.5.  Bob Chase will be sharing the schedule with Shane Albahrani, who will handle this weekend’s games.