(WANE) With stores selling fireworks popping up in advance of the July 4th holiday, Indiana State Fire Marshal Jim Greeson is urging residents to make sure they know what’s legal and what’s not when it comes to setting them off.
The following laws pertain to setting off fireworks in Indiana:
- The person setting off fireworks could be liable for damage on any property.
- Fireworks may only be set off on the user’s property, on the property of someone who has consented to the use of fireworks or at locally-mandated special discharge locations. Not all communities designate a special discharge location.
- Throughout the year, fireworks may only be used between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m. Local ordinance may limit this further.
- No local limitations may be placed on holidays and specially designated days listed below.
- Specially designated days for fireworks use are June 29 through July 3 and July 5 through 9. On those days, fireworks may be used between 5 p.m. until two hours after sunset. On July 4 they may be set off between 10 a.m. and midnight.
The following penalties come into play when fireworks laws are broken:
- A person using fireworks anywhere other than the three previously listed places could face a maximum fine of $500 per infraction.
- Damaging someone else’s property with fireworks could result in a fine of $5,000 as well as one year imprisonment. Restitution costs to the property owner may also be assessed.
- Someone recklessly, knowingly, or intentionally using fireworks and causing the serious injury or death of someone else could face imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- Anyone under the age of 18 possessing or using fireworks without the presence of an adult could face a fine of $500 per infraction.