Komets blank Cyclones in game seven to clinch series

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) – Pat Nagle stopped all 33 shots he faced while Jamie Schaafsma netted two goals in the first period as the Komets bested Cincinnati 2-0 in game seven of their first round playoff series to advance to the Western Conference semifinals.

Schaafsma, Fort Wayne’s captain, came up big early. The veteran forward gave the Komets a 1-0 lead just 4:26 into the game when he tallied his first goal of the postseason. Schaafsma netted his second goal of the night nine minutes later as the Komets led 2-0 after the first 20 minutes.

After a scoreless second period Nagle would stifle a frantic Cincinnati offense in the third frame to register a shutout.

The Komets win the series four game to three.

The Komets will now face Utah in the Western Conference semifinals with game one set for Friday night at the Coliseum. Fort Wayne and Utah did not play during the regular season.

2016 ECHL KELLY CUP WESTERN CONFERENCE SEMIFINALS
FORT WAYNE KOMETS VS UTAH GRIZZLIES
Best-of-seven series

Game 1- Friday, April 29……………..   Utah at Fort Wayne, 8pm ET
Game 2- Saturday, April 30………….   Utah at Fort Wayne, 7:30pm ET
Game 3- Wednesday, May 4………..   Fort Wayne at Utah, 7pm MT (9pm ET)
Game 4- Friday, May 6………………..   Fort Wayne at Utah, 7:30pm MT (9:30pm ET)
Game 5- Saturday, May 7……………    Fort Wayne at Utah, 7:30pm MT (9:30pm ET)
Game 6- Monday, May 9……………..   Utah at Fort Wayne, 7:30pm ET
Game 7- Tuesday, May 10…………..    Utah at Fort Wayne, 7:30pm ET

Comments are closed.