Indiana’s Ferrell picked for 3-Point Championship at Final Four

Indiana guard Yogi Ferrell celebrates with teammate Harrison Niego, right, after an NCAA college basketball game against Iowa, Tuesday, March 1, 2016, in Iowa City, Iowa. Ferrell scored 20 points as Indiana won 81-78 and clinched the Big Ten title. (AP Photo/Charlie Neibergall)

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana’s Kevin Yogi Ferrell has been selected to the 3-point roster for the 28th annual State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships at Berry Center in Cypress, Texas on March 31, Intersport announced today. He is one of eight men’s college basketball players selected for the event that will air live on ESPN at 9 p.m. ET. Ferrell was invited to take part in the 3-Point Championship after being recognized as one of the nation’s finest shooters from three-point territory.

The senior from Indianapolis shot 42.0 percent (79-of-188) from the 3-point line this season, which ranked tenth in the Big Ten. In conference games, his percentage increased to 43.1 percent (47-of-109), which ranked eighth. For his career, he was 272-of-681 (39.9 percent), with the 272 made 3-point field goals being the second-most ever made by an IU player, trailing only A.J. Guyton’s 283 made. Ferrell also finished his career by making at least one 3-point field goal in 98 of his final 99 games, including 68 straight games over the course of his junior and senior years.

Intersport, producers of the event, invites 24 of the nation’s elite men’s and women’s college basketball players to compete in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships (eight dunkers, along with eight men’s and eight women’s shooters). The program showcases the dunking and sharp-shooting talents of the nation’s top college basketball players during the Men’s 3-Point Shooting Championship, the Women’s 3-Point Shooting Championship, the Battle of the Champions, and the Slam Dunk Championship.

A complete list of participants will be released at a later date.

Over the last 27 years, several of the top players in college basketball have competed in the College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships including: Gary Payton, Steve Nash, Jason Terry, Kyle Korver, Aaron Brooks, Bobby Hurley, Michael Finley, Damon Stoudamire, Allan Houston, Wes Matthews, Cappie Pondexter, Katie Gearlds, and Kristi Toliver.

Tickets for the 2016 State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships are on sale now and can be purchased General admission tickets are $15 for adults and $10 for children 12 and under. For special group rates, please call 312-467-2826. Berry Center is located at 8877 Barker Cypress, Cypress, Texas.

For more information on the 2016 State Farm College Slam Dunk and 3-Point Championships,, follow us on Twitter (@CollegeSLAM) and like us on Facebook.


Comments are closed.