IPFW’s Landis named Player of Year, Coffman Coach of Year

Fort Wayne’s Max Landis was selected as The Summit League Men’s Basketball Player of the Year in a vote of the league’s nine head coaches, sports information directors and select media members. Each of the league’s top-three finishers totaled a pair of individual accolades.


Jon Coffman was named Coach of the Year after guiding Fort Wayne to a share of the league’s regular season title. Mike Daum of co-champion South Dakota State earned Sixth Man of the Year and Freshman of the Year honors. Omaha’s Tra-Deon Hollins collected both the Defensive Player of the Year and Transfer of the Year awards.


Landis is IPFW’s first Player of the Year selection after averaging 22.9 points per league game while leading his squad to its initial league crown. He ranked second in scoring and led in points, minutes played and made three-pointers during league play. Landis collected a league-high four Player of the Week awards this season and recorded the league’s highest-scoring game with a 44-point performance on Feb. 4.


Coffman is the Mastodons first Coach of the Year honoree after guiding his team to its first league crown after being picked fourth in the preseason poll. IPFW set school records for most regular season Division I and Summit League victories en route to its first No. 1 tournament seed.


Daum was named Sixth Man of the Year after averaging 17.4 points per league game for the co-champion Jackrabbits. He ranked third in field goal percentage at .592 and fourth in rebounding at 6.6 per league game.


Hollins, who leads the NCAA and set a Summit League record with 118 steals and 3.9  steals per game this season, was named Defensive Player of the Year. In league play, his league-best 61 steals were more than double the next highest total. He also dished out a league-best 5.9 assists in Summit games.


Freshman of the Year (Daum) and Transfer of the Year (Hollins) were handed out for the first time in league history replacing the previous Newcomer of the Year award.


Joining Landis, Daum and Hollins as first team All-Summit selections are Oral Roberts’ Obi Emegano, the league-leader with 24.3 points per game, Fort Wayne’s John Konchar, who as a freshman, was the league’s top rebounder with 10.0 per league contest, and South Dakota State leading scorer George Marshall (17.6 points per league game).


Omaha added two more all-league selections on the second team with Devin Patterson and Jake White, the league’s third and fourth-leading scorers. Joining them were North Dakota State’s Kory Brown, IUPUI’s Darell Combs and Western Illinois’ Garret Covington. Honorable mention all-league went to IUPUI’s Marcellus Barksdale, North Dakota State’s A.J. Jacobson, South Dakota State’s Deondre Parks, Fort Wayne’s Joe Reed and Denver’s Joe Rosga.


The Summit League’s All-Newcomer team featured Combs, Daum, Hollins, Konchar and Rosga. Their selections marked the first time that all five members of the All-Newcomer team also earned a nod as first, second or honorable mention all-league since the present awards format was adopted in 2005-06.


Fort Wayne, South Dakota State and Omaha each led with a total of three all-league honorees.


The Summit League Tournament begins Saturday, March 5, at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D., and will be available across multiple platforms on Midco Sports Network and ESPN3. Eight teams will vie for the NCAA Tournament automatic bid, which goes to the winner of the championship game on Tuesday, March 8, on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. (CT).



Name, School Pos. Yr.
Mike Daum, South Dakota State F R-Fr.
Obi Emegano, Oral Roberts G Sr.
Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha G Jr.
John Konchar, Fort Wayne G R-Fr.
Max Landis, Fort Wayne G Sr.
George Marshall, South Dakota State G Sr.


Kory Brown, North Dakota State G Sr.
Darell Combs, IUPUI G Jr.
Garret Covington, Western Illinois G Jr.
Devin Patterson, Omaha G Sr.
Jake White, Omaha F Sr.


Marcellus Barksdale, IUPUI G Sr.
A.J. Jacobson, North Dakota State F So.
Deondre Parks, South Dakota State G Sr.
Joe Reed, Fort Wayne F Sr.
Joe Rosga, Denver G Fr.


Darell Combs, IUPUI G Jr.
Mike Daum, South Dakota State F R-Fr.
Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha G Jr.
John Konchar, Fort Wayne G R-Fr.
Joe Rosga, Denver G Fr.

Max Landis, Fort Wayne

Jon Coffman, Fort Wayne

Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha

Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Tra-Deon Hollins, Omaha

Mike Daum, South Dakota State

Comments are closed.