IPFW’s Kamilah Carter named Summit League honorable mention

South Dakota’s Nicole Seekamp was selected as The Summit League Women’s Basketball Player of the Year in a vote of the league’s nine head coaches, sports information directors and select media members.

South Dakota State’s Clarissa Ober captured Defensive Player of the Year honors while Oral Roberts’ Faith Ihim was named the Sixth Woman of the Year. SDSU’s Madison Guebert took home the Freshman of the Year award with South Dakota’s Caitlin Duffy named Transfer of the Year. Coyote head coach Amy Williams earned her second consecutive Coach of the Year honor.

Seekamp becomes South Dakota’s first Player of the Year selection and earns her third consecutive first team all-league honor. The senior guard, a two-time Tournament MVP winner, leads the league in three-point field goal percentage (.444), assists (6.2) and steals per game (2.2). Seekamp also ranks in the top-20 nationally in both assists and steals per outing. She ranks second the league in free throw percentage (.889) and assist-to-turnover ratio (2.3) this season and averaged 17.1 points per game against league foes.

Ober was named Defensive Player of the Year after ranking second in blocks per league game at 2.4 and fifth in rebounds, grabbing 8.3 per contest. The junior center becomes the first South Dakota State player to earn the award.

Ihim, Oral Roberts’ second Sixth Woman of the Year recipient, averaged 10.3 points per game against league opposition to go along with 7.7 rebounds. The sophomore guard came off the bench in 16 games this season and finished sixth in the league in field goal percentage (.421).

Williams earned her second straight Coach of the Year honor after leading South Dakota to a 15-1 (.938) league record, the best league win percentage since 2008-09. The Coyotes enter the tournament with a 14-game winning streak, which is the 12th-longest active streak in the nation.

Guebert took home Freshman of the Year honors after leading all freshmen in league scoring at 11.8 points per game. She also connected on 41 percent of her three-point shot attempts in league play. Duffy earns the Transfer of the Year award after scoring 6.8 points per game against league opponents.

The Freshman of the Year and Transfer of the Year awards were handed out for the first time in league history, replacing the previous Newcomer of the Year award.

Joining Seekamp as first team All-Summit selections are IUPUI’s Danielle Lawrence (15.0 ppg, .836 FT%) and Mikale Rogers (14.1 ppg, 7.0 rpg), North Dakota State’s Marena Whittle (16.1 ppg, 10.2 rpg), Omaha’s Mikaela Shaw (18.0 ppg, 8.4 rpg) and South Dakota State’s Macy Miller (13.7 ppg, .926 FT%).

The five-player second team consisted of Oral Roberts’ Kaylan Mayberry, South Dakota’s Tia Hemiller, South Dakota State’s Ellie Thompson and Western Illinois’ Michelle Maher and Sophie Reichelt. Honorable mention all-league went to Denver’s Paige Bradley, Fort Wayne’s Kamilah Carter, North Dakota State’s Taylor Thunstedt, South Dakota State’s Kerri Young and South Dakota’s Kelly Stewart.

The Summit League’s All-Newcomer team features Duffy, Guebert, Omaha’s Caroline Hogue, Oral Roberts’ Maria Martianez and Western Illinois’ Taylor Higginbotham.

The Summit League Tournament begins Saturday, March 5, at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D., and will be available across multiple platforms on Midco Sports Network and ESPN3. Eight teams will vie for the NCAA Tournament automatic bid, which goes to the winner of the championship game on Tuesday, March 8, on ESPNU at 1 p.m. (CT).

First Team
Name, School Pos. Yr.
Danielle Lawrence, IUPUI G So.
Macy Miller, South Dakota State G So.
Mikale Rogers, IUPUI C Jr.
Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota G Sr.
Mikaela Shaw, Omaha F Jr.
Marena Whittle, North Dakota State G Sr.
Second Team
Tia Hemiller, South Dakota F Sr.
Michelle Maher, Western Illinois G Sr.
Kaylan Mayberry, Oral Roberts G So.
Sophie Reichelt, Western Illinois F Sr.
Ellie Thompson, South Dakota State F So.
Honorable Mention
Paige Bradley, Denver G Sr.
Kamilah Carter, Fort Wayne G Sr.
Kelly Stewart, South Dakota G Sr.
Taylor Thunstedt, North Dakota State G So.
Kerri Young, South Dakota State G/F Jr.
Caitlin Duffy, South Dakota G Jr.
Madison Guebert, South Dakota State G Fr.
Taylor Higginbotham, Western Illinois G Fr.
Caroline Hogue, Omaha C Fr.
Maria Martianez, Oral Roberts F Fr.
Player of the Year
Nicole Seekamp, South Dakota
Coach of the Year
Amy Williams, South Dakota
Defensive Player of the Year
Clarissa Ober, South Dakota State
Sixth Woman of the Year
Faith Ihim, Oral Roberts
Transfer of the Year
Caitlin Duffy, South Dakota
Freshman of the Year
Madison Guebert, South Dakota State

Comments are closed.