Peckinpaugh named WHAC Coach of the Year

GRAND RAPIDS, Mich. – The Indiana Tech men’s basketball team was well represented on list of regular season awards from the Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference (WHAC) as the league office released the official list on Monday.

Senior forward Dominique Walls, junior point guard Miles Robinson and second-year head coach John Peckinpaugh highlighted the Warriors selections as each garnered specialty awards.

Walls and Robinson were both named First-Team All-Conference and All-Newcomer Team after spectacular seasons for the Orange and Black, while Walls was voted to the All-Defensive Team and Robinson was selected Newcomer of the Year.

Walls averaged 13.9 points, 9.2 rebounds and 2.4 blocks per game this season while shooting 58.1% from the floor. The Chicago native led the WHAC in both rebounds and blocks while recording 12 double-doubles, the most in the conference. Robinson paced the Orange and Black in scoring with 19.8 points per game and dished out a team-best 3.1 assists a night while shooting 42.5% from the field and grabbing 5.4 rebounds per contest.

Peckinpaugh was named the conference’s Coach of the Year after guiding Tech to a 22-8 overall record and 17-5 mark in the WHAC, finishing third in the league in just his second season at the helm. His squad also rose as high as 20th in the NAIA Division 2 Coaches’ Top 25 Poll. He is the first coach in Indiana Tech men’s basketball history to be named Coach of the Year.

The Warriors also had four players earn All-Academic Team honors: seniors Tyrece Edwards and Milos Milidragovic and juniors Lavonte Davis and Tanner Watkins. Watkins was named the team’s representative on the WHAC’s Characters of Champions Team.

The 20th-ranked Warriors continue their season on Wednesday when they host sixth-seeded Concordia in the first round of the WHAC Tournament. Tipoff is slated for 7 p.m. from the Schaefer Center.

Comments are closed.