Austin Fox named Crossroads League Player of the Year, Chad LaCross wins Coach of the Year

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – University of Saint Francis senior Austin Fox and Head Coach Chad LaCross earned the top two honors in Crossroads League voting by CL coaches for post-season awards on Sunday.

Fox (Muncie, IN / Central H.S.) was chosen CL Player of the Year for the CL champion, NAIA No. 3 Cougars.

LaCross is CL Coach of the Year after guiding the Cougars to their third conference title and first since 1999-00. LaCross directed the Cougars to a 16-2 CL record setting a USF record for conference wins.

Sophomore forward Bryce Lienhoop (Columbus, IN / East H.S.) was All-CL first team joining Fox. Junior guard Kegan Comer (Portland, IN / Jay County H.S.) was All-CL third-team and sophomore Evan Henry (Columbus, IN / North H.S.) was All-CL honorable mention.

Fox, a 6-foot-3 forward, was also named to the CL All-Defensive team for the second consecutive season. This is the third All-CL honor for Fox, his second on the first team.

Fox led the CL in rebounding averaging 11.3 per game, which ranks No. 2 in NAIA Division II. He led the CL in double-doubles (points/rebounds) with 17 including eight consecutive to finish the season. He had 28 points and 14 boards in the USF win (87-74) at No.4 Indiana Wesleyan University on Saturday clinching the CL regular-season championship. Fox finished sixth in CL-only scoring averaging 17.7 ppg, 14.7 ppg in all of USF’s games to lead the team in scoring average and points scored (440). Fox was All-CL second team in 2013-14 in his first season at USF after transferring from IU-South Bend.

LaCross, who is 143-59 (.708) overall in six seasons, earns his first CL COTY. USF’s 26-4 record is the second best regular-season record in the 52-year history of the men’s program topped only by the 1999-00 team that finished 28-4. This is LaCross’ first conference player of the year honor. He was WHAC Player of the Year in 2000-01 at then Tri-State University as a senior. LaCross, who is an East Noble H.S. graduate, is USF’s fourth conference coach of the year. Former USF Head Coach Jeff Rekeweg won the honor three times — 1998-99, 1999-00 and 2006-07.

Lienhoop, who was on the 2014-15 CL All-Newcomer Team, is USF’s No. 2 scorer averaging 14.5 points per game. He is No. 2 in CL field goal percentage at .586, 12th in NAIA DII FG shooting percentage.

Comments are closed.