Snider grad Hearn in NBADL Three-Point Contest

Jimmer Fredette of the Westchester Knicks headlines the six-man field for the NBA Development League Three-Point Contest, which tips off NBA D-League All-Star festivities on Saturday, Feb. 13 at 1:30 p.m. ET from Toronto’s Ricoh Coliseum.  Defending NBA D-League Slam Dunk Champion Jarvis Threatt of the Rio Grande Valley Vipers returns to the All-Star stage along with five top leapers in NBA D-League Slam Dunk presented by Verizon, a competition taking place at halftime of the 2016 NBA D-League All-Star Game presented by Kumho Tire, which begins at 2 p.m. ET.

The NBA D-League Slam Dunk presented by Verizon will air live on NBA TV and NBA TV Canada during halftime of the NBA D-League All-Star Game presented by Kumho Tire, while the Three-Point Contest will be streamed on YouTube.

Joining Fredette behind the arc in Toronto are Reggie Hearn (Reno), Andre Ingram (Los Angeles), Orlando Johnson (Austin), Nick Minnerath (Canton) and Scott Suggs (Raptors).  All six contestants are shooting better than 40 percent from three-point territory, with Ingram connecting on an NBA D-League-best 51 percent.

Threatt will defend his Slam Dunk title against John Jordan (Raptors), Walter Lemon, Jr. (Fort Wayne), D.J. Stephens (Canton), Keifer Sykes (Austin) and J.P. Tokoto (Oklahoma City).  Lemon, Jr. and Sykes are no strangers to competitive dunking as they each competed at the NCAA level in the 2014 and 2015 College Slam Dunk Contest, respectively.

NBA players Jordan Clarkson (L.A. Lakers), Seth Curry (Sacramento) and Patrick Patterson (Toronto), all of whom played in the NBA D-League during their careers, are three of the five judges for NBA D-League Slam Dunk presented by Verizon.  The trio will be joined by two additional judges, one of whom will be a sweepstakes-winning fan.

The two-round NBA D-League Slam Dunk allows for each competitor to complete two dunks in Round One, with each judge awarding between six and 10 points for each dunk.  Dunkers will have 40 seconds to complete each dunk.  The two players with the highest composite scores after Round One move on to Round Two, where the time limits and scoring system remain the same.  The player with the highest composite score of the possible two dunks in Round Two is crowned the 2016 NBA D-League Slam Dunk champion.

Each of the six competitors in the two-round NBA D-League Three-Point Contest will have 60 seconds to sink up to 25 three-pointers from five shooting stations assembled around the three-point line.  Four stations will have four orange balls (worth one point each) and one multi-colored “money ball” worth two points.  The fifth station consists of five two-point “money balls,” which each competitor can position in any of the five shooting stations.  The top two scorers from the first round advance to the final round, and the competitor with the highest score in the final round wins the contest.

The full roster of participants is below.  All players must be on an active NBA D-League roster at the time of the event to compete.

NBA D-League Three-Point Contest:

Player (Team)                                              Ht.         Wt.        College                         Birthdate

Reggie Hearn (Reno)                                   6-4        210        Northwestern                8/14/1991

Andre Ingram (Los Angeles)                       6-3        195        American                     11/19/1985

Orlando Johnson (Austin)               6-5       220        UC-Santa Barbara              3/11/1989

Nick Minnerath (Canton)                6-9       215        Detroit                               8/11/1988

Scott Suggs (Raptors)                                  6-6        195        Washington                  11/10/1989

Jimmer Fredette (Westchester)                    6-2        195        BYU                            2/25/1989


NBA D-League Slam Dunk presented by Verizon:

Player (Team)                                              Ht.         Wt.        College                         Birthdate

John Jordan (Raptors)                                 5-10      180        Texas A&M Corpus-Christi   10/7/1992

Walter Lemon, Jr. (Fort Wayne)                  6-3        180        Bradley                        7/26/1992

D.J. Stephens (Canton)                                6-5        188        Memphis                      12/19/1990

Keifer Sykes (Austin)                                  5-11      167        Wisconsin-Green Bay  12/30/1993

J.P. Tokoto (Oklahoma City)                       6-6        200        North Carolina             9/15/1993

Jarvis Threatt (Rio Grande Valley)  6-2       170        Delaware                                   4/3/1993

Comments are closed.