9/21 Inside The Zone – Mid-season Awards

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) – With five weeks already in the books The News-Sentinel’s Justin Kenny and WANE-TV sports director Glenn Marini break down the best performances of we’ve seen so far this fall with their mid-season awards.

Player of the Year

A number of players could be considered here, but Kenny likes Bishop Dwenger’s Amaun Clark while Marini takes Snider quarterback Isaac Stiebeling.

Team of the Year

Kenny likes 4A no. 5 Leo, who has beaten New Haven and East Noble in consecutive weeks. Marini goes with 5A no. 2 Snider who is undefeated, including wins over Bishop Luers and Carroll.

Coach of the Year

Kenny selected Dwenger interim coach Ernie Bojrab while Marini split between Snider’s Kurt Tippmann and Jared Sauder of Leo.

Surprise of the Year

Kenny said the drop-off Wayne and Norwell has had as his biggest surprise of 2015. Marini said it was Dwenger’s 4-1 start given their struggles at the end of last year and their coaching situation.

Comments are closed.