Indiana, FEMA begin assessing storm damage in 29 counties

Downtown Portland was under several inches of water due to a recent flood in Jay County.

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — Federal, state and local officials have begun assessing the damage from severe storms and flooding in 29 Indiana counties between June 7 and July 29.

The Indiana Department of Homeland Security said the preliminary damage assessments that began Tuesday morning are a key step in determining whether Indiana qualifies for the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s public assistance program. The program reimburses governments and certain nonprofits for 75 percent of eligible expenses including debris removal and damage to buildings and infrastructure.

The affected counties are Adams, Allen, Benton, Brown, Clark, Decatur, Delaware, Fulton, Hendricks, Huntington, Jackson, Jasper, Jay, Jefferson, Jennings, Johnson, Marion, Marshall, Miami, Montgomery, Morgan, Newton, Pulaski, Scott, Vermillion, Wabash, Warren, Washington, and Wells.

The agency says the assessment teams include representatives from FEMA, the state and the counties.

Comments are closed.