Kiermaier Wins Heart And Hustle Award For Rays In 2015

Tampa Bay Rays center fielder Kevin Kiermaier makes a diving catch on a liner by Los Angeles Angels' Albert Pujols during the eighth inning of a baseball game Wednesday, June 10, 2015, in St. Petersburg, Fla. (AP Photo/Chris O'Meara)

TAMPA, Fla. (WANE) – Bishop Luers graduate Kevin Kiermaier has been named Tampa Bay’s recipient of the 2015 Heart and Hustle Award as presented by the Major League Baseball Players Alumni Association.

According to the the MLBPAA’s website all 30 MLB teams had a player honored:

“This esteemed award honors active players who demonstrate a passion for the game of baseball and best embody the values, spirit and tradition of the game. The Heart & Hustle Award is also the only award in Major League Baseball that is voted on by former players.”

The final winner will be announced Nov. 10, 2015, at the 16th Annual Legends for Youth Dinner in New York City.

Kiermaier is known for his outstanding defense in the outfield. He also leads all of Major League Baseball with 10 triples.

The 30 individual team winners are as follows:

American League
Baltimore Orioles: Adam Jones
Boston Red Sox: Dustin Pedroia
Chicago White Sox: Geovany Soto
Cleveland Indians: Jason Kipnis
Detroit Tigers: James McCann
Houston Astros: George Springer
Kansas City Royals: Alex Gordon
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim: Mike Trout
Minnesota Twins: Brian Dozier
New York Yankees: Brett Gardner
Oakland Athletics: Stephen Vogt
Seattle Mariners: Kyle Seager
Tampa Bay Rays: Kevin Kiermaier
Texas Rangers: Prince Fielder
Toronto Blue Jays: Josh Donaldson

National League
Arizona Diamondbacks: Paul Goldschmidt
Atlanta Braves: Andrelton Simmons
Chicago Cubs: Anthony Rizzo
Cincinnati Reds: Todd Frazier
Colorado Rockies: DJ LeMahieu
Los Angeles Dodgers: Joc Pederson
Miami Marlins: Dee Gordon
Milwaukee Brewers: Jonathan Lucroy
New York Mets: Curtis Granderson
Philadelphia Phillies: Chase Utley
Pittsburgh Pirates: Tony Watson
San Diego Padres: Derek Norris
San Francisco Giants: Brandon Crawford
St. Louis Cardinals: Matt Carpenter
Washington Nationals: Ian Desmond

Comments are closed.