IPFW Finishes Seventh At Summit League Championship

Courtesy: IPFW Athletics

MACOMB, Ill. – On the third and final day of competition, the IPFW women’s track and field team set an additional three records – in the 4×100-meter relay, the 1,600-meter run, and the 4×400-meter relay – with IPFW’s 16 points for the championships putting them in seventh place overall in the team competition.

The day opened with the 4×100-meter relay team of Whitney Hampton, Kiawna Cottrell, Kyley Marano, and Sara Crawford teaming for a school-record time of 48.22, placing sixth in the competitive field. IPFW 4×100-meter relay teams this season have the four fastest times in program history.

For the second time in as many races, an IPFW school record was set, as Beard placed fifth in the 1,500-meter run, closing the near-mile race in a time of 4:31.32, as Beard has each of the top eight 1,500-meter times in program history, and has went under 4:40 six times over her career. Kayla McGurk took 20th in the field with a time of 4:59.26, her fourth-best time in the event this season.,

The Mastodons got another point with an eighth-place finish in the 100-meter dash from Cottrell, running a time of 12.57, the third-fastest such time in IPFW track and field history, with Cottrell owning three of those top four marks.

Less than a half-hour later, Beard claimed six points for the Mastodons, giving IPFW 14 team points after a third-place finish in the 800-meter run, closing strong to pull out a time of 2:11.32, the third-fastest time in program history, as Beard owns the top nine fastest half mile times.

In the 5,000-meter run, twin sisters Brittany and Breanna Fensler took 22nd and 23rd, respectively, in times of 20:00 and 20:15, apiece.,

Closing out the record-breaking performances on the day was the four members of the 4×400-meter relay team: Kyley Marano, Kiawna Cottrell, Alexis Wygant, and Tori Nida, who ran to a time of 4:01.36, placing seventh in the field, and giving IPFW its final point total of 16 for the championships. The quartet’s time was a season-best by over six seconds, and a new school record by two and a half seconds, breaking the former record held by Brooke Newman, Angie Suel, Valerie Hardesty, and Brandy Swing from 2007.

The Summit League Championships end the 2015 season for the Mastodons.

Comments are closed.