IPFW Women’s Tennis Sweeps Summit League Honors

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – IPFW sophomore Mayu Sato has been named the Summit League Player of the Year for the second consecutive season, ending the season with a perfect 6-0 record against Summit League foes and giving her an unblemished career Summit League mark. Sophomore Sara Sherif and head coach Eric Burns were also named the Newcomer of the Year and Coach of the Year, as the Mastodons swept the three post-season honors. Sofia Sorokina was also honored with an All-League honor.

The Player of the Year honor is not only Sato’s second straight, but it gives IPFW seven Player of the Year awards in the program’s nine years in the Summit League. It is also the first time since 2007 that a school has swept the yearly awards and just the fourth time in Summit League history.

Sato ended the regular season with a 34-7 overall record, and a 26-4 mark during the spring season. She comes into the Summit League Tournament having won 15 straight matches, the longest win streak on the team. In doubles matches, she has a 25-11 overall record, including a 4-1 mark in Summit League matches, and is 17-9 during the spring season.

Sherif has closed the regular season with a 24-9 overall record in her first season at IPFW, and is 20-7 during the spring and 6-1 in Summit League contests. She is 9-2 this season at No. 4 singles, and 8-4 at No. 5. In doubles she and Alina Schibol are 19-9 at No. 3 pairs, including a 5-1 mark in Summit League contests.

Burns, who has guided IPFW to a 23-7 record this season – tied for fourth-most in Summit League history and 6-1 in league play, good for the second seed in the upcoming Summit League Tournament. He has climbed into second place in Summit League history with 55 career league victories, while his .917 league winning percentage is also second all-time. This is Burns’ second career women’s Coach of the Year honor, as he also earned the honor in 2011, while he was named the men’s Summit League Coach of the Year in 2012. His teams account for the five highest single-season overall win totals in Summit league history.

Sorokina has a 23-12 mark to close out the 2015 regular season, and is 8-1 at No. 5 singles, with a 6-1 mark in League play and 18-6 overall in the spring. She has also added two doubles wins to her total for the year.

The Mastodons open play in the 2015 Summit League Tournament on Friday, April 24, with a 1 p.m. match against Western Illinois at the Dr. Rudy and Rhonda Kachmann Tennis Center on the IPFW campus.

IPFW ALL-TIME ALL-SUMMIT LEAGUE HONOREES: Ingrid Ballus (2009, 2010, 2011), Katie Brien (2009), Ashley Coulson (2008), Alex Forsyth (2009, 2011, 2012), Hanna Hager (2008), Anita Henestrosa (2012, 2013), Sachi Janek (2009), Caterina Kiefer (2011, 2013), Yuka Kobayashi (2009), Kristine Lindal (2013), Theresa Neumeyr (2013), Amy Recht (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011), Mayu Sato (2014, 2015), Sara Sherif (2015), Sofia Sorokina (2015), Raquel Vescovi (2011),PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Anita Henestrosa (2013), Amy Recht (2008, 2009, 2010, 2011), Mayu Sato (2014, 2015) NEWCOMER OF THE YEAR: Ingrid Ballus (2009), Anita Henestrosa (2012), Amy Recht (2008), Sara Sherif (2015) COACH OF THE YEAR: Eric Burns (2010, 2015)

Comments are closed.