MBB: Three Mastadons Honored With All-Summit League Awards

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – The Summit League announced their All-Conference awards on Thursday afternoon.

Joining Lawrence Alexander, Cody Larson and Deondre Parks as first team All-Summit selections are Oral Roberts’ Obi Emegano, the league’s second-leader scorer at 19.4 points per game, Fort Wayne’s leading scorer and rebounder Steve Forbes (13.3 ppg and 5.9 rpg)and South Dakota’s leading scorer and the league’s fourth-leading rebounder Tyler Larson (13.1ppg, 7.4 rpg).

Five different teams are represented on both the second team and honorable mention. Second-team honors went to Oral Roberts’ Korey Billbury, Omaha’s CJ Carter, Western Illinois’ Garret Covington, South Dakota State’s George Marshall and Denver’s Brett Olson. Honorable mention included IUPUI’s Marceullus Barksdale, South Dakota State’s Jake Bittle, Fort Wayne’s Joe Edwards, North Dakota State’s A.J. Jacobson and Omaha’s Mike Rostampour.

The Summit League’s All-Newcomer team features Jacobson, Marshall and Parks along with South Dakota’s Tre Burnette and Fort Wayne’s Max Landis.

The Summit League Tournament begins Saturday, March 7, at the Denny Sanford PREMIER Center in Sioux Falls, S.D., and will be available across multiple platforms on Midco Sports Network and ESPN3. Eight teams will vie for the NCAA Tournament automatic bid, which goes to the winner of the championship game on Tuesday, March 10, on ESPN2 at 8 p.m. (CT).

Comments are closed.