IPFW’s Spencer Named To AVCA North All-Region Team

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – For the second straight season, IPFW women’s volleyball outside hitter Emily Spencer has been named to the American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) North All-Region team, this time as a First Team selection. The 2014 Summit League Player of the Year was a 2013 AVCA All-Region Honorable Mention selection. This marks the third straight season that a Mastodon player has been named All-Region and she becomes the 19th all-time IPFW AVCA All-Region selection.

Spencer, a Jenison, Michigan native, was the sixth player in Summit League history to earn multiple Player of the Year honors in her career after earning the award as a sophomore in 2012. To date, the senior ranks second in Division I among active career leaders in kills with 2,106 and first with 5,807 career attempts, and ranks second in league history in both categories. She currently ranks in the top-13 of the NCAA in five statistical categories, including sixth with 1,550 total attacks, sixth with 602 total kills, eighth in kills per set (4.70), 11th in points per set (5.29) and 13th in attacks per set (12.11). She tied for a league-high with two Offensive Player of the Week honors and finished her career with a school-record 54-match streak with double-digit kills. Earlier this season, she became the second player in IPFW and Summit League history to record 2,000 career kills. Spencer is also one of eight Mastodons players with 1,000 kills and 1,000 digs for their career.

The North region team consisted of 14 All-Region players, and six honorable mentions. The full list of the Division I honorees can be found here.

All-Time IPFW AVCA All-Region Selections
2014: Emily Spencer
2013: Emily Spencer (HM)
2012: Tessa McGill (HM)
1999: Tami Isch and Laura Douglas
1998: Tami Isch
1997: Dottie Porch and Andrea Reichhart
1996: Dottie Porch
1995: Heather Teagarden
1994: Andrea Reichhart
1992: Julie Huber
1990: Cherise Dixie and Kris Wilder
1989: Jami Brown
1988: Jami Brown and Joni Smith
1987: Julie Hefty and Joni Smith

Comments are closed.