IU’s Coleman A Semifinalist For Doak Walker Award

BLOOMINGTON, Ind. – Indiana junior running back Tevin Coleman is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Doak Walker Award, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors announced Wednesday morning. He is the second Hoosier to be recognized as a semifinalist. Vaughn Dunbar was a finalist in 1991.
Coleman is joined by Ameer Abdullah – Nebraska, Jay Ajayi – Boise State, Javorius Allen – USC, Cameron Artis-Payne – Auburn, Matt Breida – Georgia Southern, James Conner – Pittsburgh, Melvin Gordon – Wisconsin, Devon Johnson – Marshall and Duke Johnson – Miami. Coleman is also one of 20 semifinalists for the 2014 Maxwell Award.
Members of the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast their votes to determine the 2014 finalists. On Tuesday, November 25, three finalists will be named. A second vote by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will determine the recipient. The 2014 Doak Walker Award recipient will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 11, on ESPN.
Coleman is second nationally in rushing yards (1,678), rushing yards per game (167.8), all-purpose yards (1,810), all-purpose yards per game (181.0), yards from scrimmage (1,810) and yards from scrimmage per game (181.0), third in rushing yards per carry (7.84), tied for 14th in rushing touchdowns (12) and tied for 18th in total TDs (12) this season.
He is on pace to rush for 2,014 yards, which would break Dunbar’s school record of 1,805 set back in 1991. Coleman is currently fourth in program history with his 1,678 yards.
Only four running backs in Big Ten history have reached 2,000 yards: Ron Dayne (2,109 – 1996; 2,034 – 1999), Larry Johnson (2,087 – 2002), Lorenzo White (2,066 – 1985) and Damien Anderson (2,063 – 2000).
The Tinley Park, Ill., native recorded a career-high 307 yards, the second-most in Indiana history and a Rutgers stadium record, on a career-best 32 rushes, a 9.6 average, and a 67-yard touchdown last weekend. Anthony Thompson holds the Hoosiers record with 377 yards (52 carries) at Wisconsin on Nov. 11, 1989.
The Doak Walker Award is named after three-time SMU All-America running back and 1948 Heisman Trophy winner Doak Walker. Walker, who also punted, returned kicks and kicked extra points, led the Mustangs to two Southwest Conference Championships. He was drafted by the Detroit Lions and led the league in scoring his rookie year. During his six years with the Lions, he led the team to two NFL championships and was chosen All-Pro four times. Walker is a member of both the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

Comments are closed.