IPFW Women Picked To Finish Sixth In Summit League

ELMHURST, Ill. – The IPFW women’s basketball team has been picked to finish sixth in the 2014-15 Summit League women’s basketball preseason poll in a vote of the league’s head coaches, SIDs and select media.

Mastodon point guard Haley Seibert was tabbed as a preseason First Team selection, after earning All-Summit League First Team honors as a junior last season.

South Dakota State was selected to capture the 2014-15 Summit League women’s basketball championship after winning its third consecutive regular season title a year ago. The Jackrabbits collected 27-of-32 first-place votes and 513 points. Western Illinois’ Ashley Luke was tabbed as the preseason Player of the Year.

South Dakota earned four first-place votes and 420 points to place second in the poll. Regular season runner-up IUPUI was in third place followed by Western Illinois in fourth with the final first-place tally. Denver, which finished second at the tournament a year ago, came in fifth while IPFW placed sixth. Oral Roberts, which returns to the league for the first time since 2011-12, Omaha and North Dakota State rounded out the poll.

Seibert earned the preseason honor after averaging 16.7 points per game last season, third in the league, and shooting 49 percent from the field and 45 percent from three-point range. She shared the Summit League scoring title with former teammate Amanda Hyde as both players finished the 14 league games with 308 points. Her .452 three-point percentage last year was second in single-season program history and the 89 three-pointers made also ranked second in IPFW history, and were fifth most in league history.

Joining Seibert and Luke on the first team are North Dakota State’s Brooke LeMar, IUPUI’s Nevena Markovic, South Dakota’s Nicole Seekamp, and South Dakota State’s Megan Waytashek .

2014-15 Summit League Women’s Basketball Preseason Poll
Place Team Points (1st)
1. South Dakota State 513 (27)
2. South Dakota 420 (4)
3. IUPUI 408
4. Western Illinois 358 (1)
5. Denver 253
6. IPFW 202
7. Oral Roberts 178
8. Omaha 165
9. North Dakota State 158

Preseason Player of the Year: Ashley Luke, Western Illinois

First Team
Name School Pos. Year
Brooke LeMar North Dakota State G Sr.
Ashley Luke Western Illinois F Jr.
Nevena Markovic IUPUI F/C Sr.
Nicole Seekamp South Dakota G Sr.
Haley Seibert IPFW G Sr.
Megan Waytashek South Dakota State G/F Sr.

Second Team
Name School Pos. Year
Paige Bradley Denver G Jr.
Raeshel Contreras South Dakota G Sr.
Tia Hemiller South Dakota G Jr.
Taijhe Kelly Omaha C Sr.
Michelle Maher Western Illinois G Jr.

Comments are closed.