Northeast Indiana teachers finalists for 2015 Teacher of the Year

Audrey Fetters (Left) and Gail Alexander (right) are finalists in the 2015 Indiana Teacher of the Year.

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE)  Two teachers in northeast Indiana are finalists for the 2015 Indiana Teacher of the Year award. Audrey Fetters, a teacher in Huntington County Community School Corporation, and Gail Alexander, a teacher in East Allen Community Schools were announced along with eight other teachers as finalists.

Fetters teaches kindergarten at Flint Springs Elementary School and Alexander teaches English at Heritage Junior Senior High School.

The next step for both Fetters and Alexander will be an interview session with a committee of previous Indiana Teacher of the Year recipients as well as other educational stakeholders.

The final Indiana Teacher of the Year will be announced in October.

According to the Indiana Department of Education’s website, The mission of the Indiana Teacher of the Year Program is to develop a community of TOY’s who, through the exchange of knowledge, vision, experiences and opportunities grow, promote, and celebrate the teaching profession and educators as leaders.

State winners receive a $1,000 prize and an archive of classroom resources.

The 2014 teacher of the year was Steven Perkins from North Central High School.

Comments are closed.