Komets Acquire Rights To Veteran Forward C.J. Severyn

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Komets announced Tuesday that they have made a trade with the Alaska Aces and have acquired the rights to left winger C.J. Severyn in exchange for future considerations.

Severyn, 25, was traded to Alaska this summer by the Orlando Solar Bears. His rights have subsequently been traded to Fort Wayne. Severyn completed his second season with Orlando last year scoring 11 goals and 34 points in 43 games. He also skated six AHL games in stints with Wilkes-Barre/Scranton and Utica during the season.

In 2012-13, Severyn joined Orlando for their inaugural ECHL season and ranked second on the team with career highs of 22 goals and 44 points in 62 games while collecting the Solar Bears’ MVP award. He was also named to the ECHL All-Star Team.

Severyn skated with the U.S. National Under 18 Team in 2005-06 where he led with 77 penalty minutes and ranked third with 13 assists in 32 games. The winger also took the Silver Medal with the USA Under 17 Team in the World Hockey Challenge (WHC) and again collected the Silver Medal with the Under 18 Team in 2007.

Prior to starting his college career Severyn was selected by Calgary in round seven of the 2007 NHL Entry Draft. He began a four-year stint at Ohio State University in 2007-08 where he amassed Buckeye totals of 25 goals, 16 assists, 41 points and 137 penalty minutes in 140 CCHA games.

Severyn made his pro debut with Utah in the ECHL logging five goals, 15 points and 115 penalty minutes in 48 games during 2011-12 and first appeared in the AHL skating six games with Charlotte.

The Beaver, Pennsylvania native enters his fourth pro year with ECHL totals of 38 goals, 55 assists, 93 points and 323 penalty minutes in 153 games.

The Fort Wayne preseason roster of 19 includes 12 forwards, six defensemen and one goaltender.
Forwards: Brett Beebe, Paul Crowder, Mike Embach, Angelo Esposito, Eric Faille, Thomas Frazee, Alex Hudson, Christian Ouellet, Kaleigh Schrock, C.J. Severyn, Shawn Szydlowski, Greg Wolfe. Defensemen: Ian Barteaux, Drew Daniels, Matt Krug, William Lacasse, Matthew Maione, Cody Sol. Goaltender: Pat Nagle.

Comments are closed.