IPFW 2014-15 Schedule Includes Purdue, Georgia Tech

JON COFFMAN IPFW

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – IPFW men’s basketball head coach Jon Coffman has announced the program’s 2014-15 schedule, which includes 15 regular-season home games, and a road game slate highlighted by Georgia Tech of the ACC, and the Big Ten’s Purdue University.

The Mastodons come off of a season which saw a program-record 25 wins, and a victory in the CollegeInsider.com Tournament. The squad returns three starters and nine letterwinners, in addition to bringing in six new faces for the 2014-15 season.

The schedule kicks off on Sunday, November 9 with an afternoon exhibition against Olivet at the Gates Sports Center, while Manchester opens the regular season on Friday, November 14. The Mastodons follow with back-to-back road contests on Monday, November 17 at SIUE from the Ohio Valley Conference – one of 13 different conferences that IPFW will face this year – and at Georgia Tech on Friday, November 21.

IPFW returns home to face off against former Mastodon head coach Tony Jasick and the Jacksonville Dolphins on Monday, November 24 in the Memorial Coliseum.

Immediately after Thanksgiving the ‘Dons again take to the road with a Friday, November 28 contest at Dartmouth for the Big Green home opener, followed by a mid-week Wednesday, December 3 game at Stetson in DeLand, Florida.

Miami (Ohio) travels to Fort Wayne on Saturday, December 6 in the second game of a women’s/men’s doubleheader, before IPFW makes a trek to West Lafayette to take on in-state foe Purdue on Monday, December 8. On Thursday, December 11, the Mastodons host Michigan-Dearborn at 7 p.m., before taking the next nine days off for finals.

With the door closed on the first semester of the academic year, Valparaiso – who advanced to the CollegeInsider.com Tournament in 2014 – faces off against the Mastodons in the Gates Sports Center on Saturday, December 20 at 7 p.m. before the team takes to the road for a Monday, December 22 contest against Illinois State, who went 18-16 and 9-9 in the Missouri Valley Conference last season.

The 2014 calendar year closes with back-to-back home games, including a Sunday, December 28 meeting with Judson, and a Tuesday, December 30 contest against Cal Poly, a team that advanced to the NCAA Second Round, before falling to No. 1 seed Wichita State. Each of the two final games of the year are doubleheaders with the women’s basketball team.

The New Year brings in the Summit League schedule, as IPFW opens the League season at Western Illinois on Friday, January 2 before hosting IUPUI on Sunday, January 4 – the first of three-consecutive home games for the Mastodons, with games against Denver and South Dakota to follow. The regular season closes with a pair of home games on Thursday, February 26 and Saturday, February 28 against Western Illinois and Omaha, respectively.

Highlighting the conference season is the team’s Homecoming game, a Saturday, January 24 rematch of the 2014 Summit League Tournament Championship Game against North Dakota State.

Following the regular season, IPFW travels to Sioux Falls, South Dakota, and the newly built Denny Sanford Premier Center, the new home for the Summit League Championships.

blog comments powered by Disqus