New director announced for ACPL

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) The Allen County Public Library Board of Trustees voted on who will be the next director Friday. After months of searching, the ACPL Board of Trustees has unanimously voted Greta Southard to take over the position for Jeffery Krull.

Southhard has been the director of the Boone County Public Library since 2009. The ACPL said while in Boone County she worked to develop innovative services and built collaborative relationships and partnerships with library staff, broad and community members.

“Our entire board was extremely impressed with Greta Southard’s varied professional experience and solid track record of successful organizational leadership,” president of the Allen County Public Library’s Board of Library Trustees, Martin Seifert said. “She brings a deep understanding of the issues facing public libraries in a fast-changing social and technological environment.”

Southhard’s previous experience includes her position as the executive director of the Public Library Association, a division of the American Library Association in Chicago. The ACPL said her experience there, along with the connections she made will benefit the libraries in Allen County.  She has also worked as an account executive at centers in Cincinnati and Chicago.

“We feel Greta is the ideal person to lead our stellar library system to even greater achievements in the years ahead,” Seifert said.

The ACPL Board of Trustees will meet next week to determine when Southard will start. However, current director Jeffrey Krull retires on September 1, 2014.

Krull announced his retirement in February, earlier this year. Southhard succeeds Krull who became director in 1986. In his 28 years with the library, Krull rebuilt thirteen branches including the addition of 127,000 to the main library downtown.

Comments are closed.