Find out which counties are issuing same sex marriage licenses

Josh Reid (left) and Kenny Edholm apply for a marriage license at the Allen County Courthouse.
Josh Reid (left) and Kenny Edholm apply for a marriage license at the Allen County Courthouse.

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) – NewsChannel 15 called the county clerks in northeast Indiana to see which counties were issuing licenses to same sex couples and which ones were still holding off after a Wednesday ruling overturning Indiana’s ban on same-sex marriage.

Photo Gallery | Gay marriage ban struck down in Indiana 

Guidance from the attorney general’s office on Wednesday instructed five counties names in the lawsuit – Allen, Boone, Hamilton, Lake and Porter – to comply with the judge’s ruling or face contempt of court. It urged the other 87 counties to “show respect for the judge and the orders that are issued.”

Several counties are citing forms that currently require a ‘male applicant’ and a ‘female applicant’ as the reason they could not issue marriage licenses to same-sex couples. The Indiana Department of Health, the agency responsible for updating these forms according to county clerks, told NewsChannel 15 it was “working to comply with the order.”

The following counties in northeast Indiana are issuing marriage licenses to same-sex couples:

  • Allen
  • Blackford
  • DeKalb
  • Huntington
  • Jay – issued 2 marriage license, married 1 couple
  • Lagrange – 1 marriage license issued to a same-sex couple
  • Kosciusko – 2 issued Thursday morning
  • Noble  – 1 marriage license issued to a same-sex couple
  • Steuben
  • Wabash – issued 2 Thursday morning
  • Whitley – issued 2 Thursday morning

Related | Judge Strikes down Indiana ban on gay marriage 

The following counties told NewsChannel 15 they were either waiting for direct guidance from the Indiana attorney general or they were waiting for forms to be updated:

  • Adams
  • Grant
  • Wells

Full list of counties in the state of Indiana that are not issuing marriage licenses, as of 4 p.m. Thursday:

  • Adams
  • Benton
  • Clay
  • Clinton
  • Daviess
  • Decatur
  • Franklin
  • Grant
  • Lawrence
  • Newton
  • Union
  • Steuben
  • Warren
  • Wayne (County is taking names and phone numbers and will call back those interested in one.)
  • Wells

Full list of Indiana counties that are issuing marriage licenses, as of 4 p.m. Thursday:

  • Allen
  • Bartholomew
  • Blackford
  • Boone
  • Brown
  • Carroll
  • Cass
  • Clark
  • Crawford
  • DeKalb
  • Delaware
  • Dearborn
  • Dubois
  • Elkhart
  • Fayette
  • Floyd
  • Fountain
  • Fulton
  • Gibson
  • Greene
  • Hamilton
  • Hancock
  • Harrison
  • Hendricks
  • Henry
  • Howard
  • Huntington
  • Jackson
  • Jasper
  • Jay
  • Jefferson (But waiting on forms to be updated)
  • Jennings
  • Johnson
  • Knox
  • Kosciusko
  • Lagrange
  • Lake
  • LaPorte
  • Madison
  • Marion
  • Marshall
  • Martin
  • Miami
  • Monroe
  • Montgomery
  • Morgan
  • Noble
  • Ohio
  • Orange
  • Owen
  • Parke (once the form is updated, which was happening Thursday)
  • Perry
  • Pike
  • Porter
  • Posey
  • Pulaski
  • Putnam
  • Randolph
  • Ripley
  • Rush
  • Scott
  • Shelby
  • Spencer
  • St. Joseph
  • Starke
  • Sullivan
  • Tippecanoe
  • Tipton
  • Vanderburgh
  • Vermillion
  • Vigo
  • Wabash
  • Warrick
  • Washington
  • White
  • Whitley

 NOTE: As of 4 p.m. Thursday, Switzerland County could not be reached and is therefore not listed. provides commenting on many stories to allow for constructive discussion. In order to comment, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms and Conditions. Anyone violating these terms, including the use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinion of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, flag it so our moderators can review.

blog comments powered by Disqus