Bob Chase Named ECHL Broadcaster Of The Year

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The ECHL named Fort Wayne Komets veteran play-by-play announcer Bob Chase its Broadcaster of the Year for 2013-14 during the ECHL annual league meetings in Las Vegas, Nevada Thursday. The Broadcaster of the Year Award is voted on by the league media relations directors and broadcasters among the 21 member teams.

Chase becomes the 15th broadcaster in ECHL history to win the award since it was first presented in 2002.

Chase, who turned 88 in January, began his career as broadcaster with the Komets when he moved to Fort Wayne to begin his radio career with WOWO Radio AM 1190 in 1953, which included broadcasting Komet hockey games starting with the 1953-54 season.

During his extended career with the Komets, Chase has called 12 regular season league titles and nine playoff championships over the course of more than 4,500 games. Chase also was named a recipient of the prestigious Lester Patrick Award, a trophy presented annually by the NHL and USA Hockey since 1966 to honor one’s contribution to ice hockey in the United States, in 2012.

“The Voice of the Komets” will enter his 62nd season behind the Fort Wayne microphone radio rinkside when the puck drops on the 2014-15 campaign in October.

The Komets will open their 63rd season on the road at Indianapolis Friday, Oct. 17. The Fort Wayne home opener is slated for Saturday night, Oct. 18 against the Indy Fuel at 7:30pm.

Season Tickets for 2014-15 are on sale at the Komet office, 1010 Memorial Way. For information visit or call the Komet office at 260-483-0011.

Comments are closed.