Fort Wayne’s new fire chief sworn in

Eric Lahey is sworn in as Fort Wayne Fire Chief on Monday.
Eric Lahey is sworn in as Fort Wayne Fire Chief on Monday.

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE)  Fort Wayne’s new fire chief was sworn in on Monday.

Eric Lahey was sworn in during a ceremony at Citizens Square. He takes over as fire chief after the resignation of Amy Biggs.

Lahey has been with the Fort Wayne Fire Department since 1996. He most recently worked as a firefighter at Station 11 on Rudisill Boulevard. He has held the positions of deputy fire chief, district chief of special operations, district chief of training and development and captain of training.

Lahey is a Fort Wayne native. He also served in the Army and was honorably discharged in 1992. He served in the Indiana National Guard for six years, rising to the rank of staff sergeant. He graduated from Concordia Lutheran High School and has attended classes at IPFW and Ivy Tech.

Resignation of Amy Biggs

The appointment of Lahey comes after the abrupt resignation of former chief Amy Biggs.

Biggs announced her resignation May 21 and her last day as chief was June 1. She will return to a position of captain with the operations division.

Biggs cited personal reasons for stepping down after serving nearly two years in the top position with the Fort Wayne Fire Department. provides commenting on many stories to allow for constructive discussion. In order to comment, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms and Conditions. Anyone violating these terms, including the use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinion of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, flag it so our moderators can review.

blog comments powered by Disqus