BASE: IPFW Drops Regular Season Finale

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – A ninth-inning comeback came up just short for the IPFW baseball team as the Mastodons dropped their regular season finale to Southeast Missouri 8-6.

The Mastodons head into the Summit League tournament with an overall record of 19-34.

IPFW out hit the Redhawks 15-12 as eight Mastodon starters collected at least one hit. Kristian Gayday and Shane Trevino each collected three hits on the afternoon. Malcolm White, Kevin Wirth, and Steve Lowden all had a pair of hits. Wirth finished with a game-high three RBI while White drove in two runners.

The ‘Dons jumped out to the early lead, scoring a pair of runs in the second inning. Lowden led off the inning with a single. One out later, Caleb Fenimore doubled down the left field line and Lucas Salerno brought home Lowden on a groundout. White stepped in and drove in his first run of the game, scoring Fenimore on a single to left field.

Southeast scored runs in every inning from the third through the seventh, plating its first run of the game in the third on a double steal.

The Mastodons answered in the bottom half of the third on a sacrifice fly by Wirth that scored Gayday.

White tied the game in the sixth, delivering on his second home run of the season, depositing a 3-1 pitch over the wall in left center.

SEMO took a four-run lead into the bottom of the ninth, scoring three runs in the top of the ninth, all of which came with at least one out.

IPFW began its comeback attempt in the ninth with three straight hits to lead off the inning. After a Gayday single began the inning, Trevino followed with a double to the right center gap. Wirth drove them both in on a double to right center field. That would be where the Mastodon rally would stall though as the next three batters were retired to end the game.

Dane Davis took the loss for the ‘Dons after making his first relief appearance of the season.

The Mastodons will face Western Illinois in the first round of the Summit League Tournament on May 22 at either 3 p.m. or 8 p.m. (EDT).

Comments are closed.