Mad Ants win D-League championship

Mad Ants win D-League championship

FORT WAYNE, Ind. (WANE) – For the first time in franchise history, the Fort Wayne Mad Ants are the NBA Development League champions.

The team clinched the victory by winning Saturday’s game 119-113 over the Santa Cruz Warriors. The Ants swept the Warriors in the best-of-three finals series two games to none.

Tony Mitchell led the way with 32 points, including a key three-point play to give the Ants a five point lead with just 9.2 seconds left in the fourth quarter.

Ron Howard, the league’s co-MVP, added 23 points. His 17-foot jumper from the wing with 1:09 remaining gave the Ants a 113-111 lead that they would never relinquish.

Thousands of fans packed the Coliseum for this historic match-up. The Mad Ants won the first game of the series on Thursday night in Santa Cruz by a score of 102-92.

The Mad Ants finished the regular season with the league’s best record at 34-16. They did not lose a game in the playoffs, going 6-0 and sweeps all three series.

NewsChannel 15 will have team reaction and game highlights on Nightcast at 11.

Comments are closed.