IPFW’s Sellan Honored By AVCA


FORT WAYNE, Ind. – IPFW sophomore Andy Sellan has been named an American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) Honorable Mention All-America selection, the first for the men’s volleyball program since 2007, giving the program 24 All-America selections.

Sellan led the Mastodons with 341 kills in 2014, hitting .304 (124 errors, 713 attempts). He is one of two players on his team with 300 or more kills, 100 or more digs, and 50 or more blocks. He added 33 service aces, averaging 0.32 aces per set.

The Mastodons ended the 2014 season with a 21-7 overall record, the most wins in a season since 2007, while also advancing to the MIVA Semifinals for the first time in as many seasons.

The last IPFW player to earn AVCA All-America honors was C.J. Macias in the 2006 and 2007 seasons.

IPFW ended its 2014 season in the MIVA Semifinals, in a loss to top ranked Loyola on April 23.

Previous IPFW All-America Selections (Team)
2014 – Andrew Sellan (H.M.)
2007 – C.J. Macias (2nd)
2006 – C.J. Macias (2nd)
2004 – Matt Zbyszewski (1st)
2003 – Jeff Ptak (2nd)
2000 – Hector Soto (1st), Chris Gisslen (2nd)
1999 – Chris Gisslen (2nd)
1998 – Hector Soto (2nd)
1995 – Ricardo Soler (H.M.)
1994 – Lloy Ball (1st)
1993 – Lloy Ball (2nd), Raul Papaleo (H.M.)
1992 – Lloy Ball (2nd), Raul Papaleo (2nd), Quentin Spiegel (H.M.)
1991 – Raul Papaleo (2nd), Fred Malcolm (2nd), Tony Luhning (H.M.)
1990 – Fred Malcolm (2nd)
1989 – Jay Golsteyn (2nd)
1987 – Jay Golsteyn (3rd)
1986 – Loren Gebert (3rd)
1985 – Loren Gebert (H.M.)

WANE.com provides commenting on many stories to allow for constructive discussion. In order to comment, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms and Conditions. Anyone violating these terms, including the use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinion of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, flag it so our moderators can review.

blog comments powered by Disqus