WANE’s Alyssa Ivanson wins best television reporter

Alyssa Ivanson

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) — The Indiana Associated Press Broadcasters Association has announced its winners for the 2014 broadcast awards for television and radio.

WANE-TV’s Alyssa Ivanson was named best television reporter at a banquet held Saturday in Indianapolis. Ivanson is a reporter and the weekend Nightcast anchor. She has been at WANE for more than eight years.

Ivanson and Michael Puente co-emceed the event.

WANE’s Mark Mellinger won second place in Best News Series for his “Broken Congress” piece.

Television stations WRTV-TV of Indianapolis and WEHT-TV of Evansville won awards for Outstanding News Operation. The staff of WFPL radio in Louisville, Ky., won the radio division’s Outstanding News Operation award.

Rafael Sanchez of WRTV in Indianapolis was also named best television reporter. Cass Herrington of WNIN-FM in Evansville and Stephanie Wiechmann of WBST-FM in Muncie were named best reporters in radio.

The contest of news entries from 2013 was judged by broadcasters in Tennessee.

Comments are closed.