Former Komet Lang Wins ECHL MVP, Marino Third

The ECHL on Friday announced that Mickey Lang of the Orlando Solar Bears has been selected as the CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player for 2013-14.

The CCM Most Valuable Player award is presented annually to the player selected to be the most valuable to his team as determined in a vote of ECHL coaches, broadcasters, media relations directors and media members.

Peter Sivak of Alaska finished second, followed by Fort Wayne’s Brandon Marino, Jeff Jakaitis of South Carolina and Bakersfield’s Laurent Brossoit.

Lang, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, led the league with 44 goals, becoming the first ECHL player to score at least 40 goals in a season since 2010-11. His 16 power-play goals also led the league and he finished third with 77 points. Lang was tied for the league lead with seven game-winning goals, tied for third with 21 power-play points and was fifth with 227 shots on goal.

He was acquired in a trade with Fort Wayne in December, and tallied 51 points (27g-24a) in 37 games with the Solar Bears. Orlando posted a 28-12-4 record from Dec. 30 when Lang played his first game with the club through the end of the season.

CCM ECHL Most Valuable Player Award Winners

2014 Mickey Lang Orlando Solar Bears
2013 Ryan Zapolski South Carolina Stingrays
2012 Chad Costello Colorado Eagles
2011 Wes Goldie Alaska Aces
2010 Tyler Donati Elmira Jackals
2009 Kevin Baker Florida Everblades
2008 David Desharnais Cincinnati Cyclones
2007 Brad Schell Gwinnett Gladiators
2006 Jeff Campbell Gwinnett Gladiators
2005 Scott Gomez Alaska Aces
2004 Scott Stirling Atlantic City Boardwalk Bullies
2003 Buddy Smith Arkansas RiverBlades
2002 Frederic Cloutier Louisiana IceGators
2001 Scott King Charlotte Checkers
2000 Andrew Williamson Toledo Storm
1999 Chris Valicevic Louisiana IceGators
1998 Jamey Hicks Birmingham Bulls
1997 Mike Ross South Carolina Stingrays
1996 Hugo P. Belanger Nashville Knights
1995 Vadim Slivchenko Wheeling Thunderbirds
1994 Joe Flanagan Birmingham Bulls
1993 Trevor Jobe Nashville Knights
1992 Phil Berger Greensboro Monarchs
1991 Stan Drulia Knoxville Cherokees
1990 Bill McDougall Erie Panthers
1989 Daryl Harpe Erie Panthers


































Comments are closed.