Komets Announce Team Awards, Marino Team MVP

FORT WAYNE, Ind. – The Komets announced their End-of-Season Player Awards Saturday night following the regular season home finale against the Toledo Walleye at the Memorial Coliseum.  The awards were presented as follows:

• Bud Gallmeier Memorial Trophy/Community Service Award, for community service and dedication to the game of hockey in memory of long-time Komet beat writer Bud Gallmeier.  Winner:  Mike Embach

• The Wiegmann Family “True Komet” Award, exemplifying team spirit and a positive attitude on and off the ice.
Winner:  Kaleigh Schrock

• The NOB Brick Award, for the Stonewall Defensive Forward of the season.  Winner:  Chris Auger

• The Mr. Hustle Award, in honor of the memory of Cliff and Jean Fell, Jim and William Fell, and Pat Curtis, long-time Komet fans.  The award considers a player’s personal statistics (goals, assists and on-ice hits at home) and overall up-tempo style of game.  Winner:  Brandon Marino (second consecutive year)

• The Unsung Hero Award, the Komets’ 5/30 award in tribute to Komet Hall-of-Famers Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke, given t the player whose hard work, dedication to his teammates and love of the game is in the true spirit of Komet legends Robbie Irons and Terry Pembroke.  Winner:  Mike Embach

• The Komet Kuarters Most Improved Player Award.  Winner:  Shawn Szydlowski

• The Komet Defenseman of the Year Award.  Winner:  Jordon Southorn

• The Komet Rookie of the Year Award.  Winner:  Scott Fleming

• The Komet Most Valuable Player Award, known as the Foss Folk Memorial Trophy sponsored by the Folk family and voted on by the Komet players themselves.  Winner:  Brandon Marino


blog comments powered by Disqus