IPFW’s Hyde Named Scholar Athlete Of Year

24 hour temperatures

For the second straight year it was announced that IPFW women’s basketball player Amanda Hyde was selected as the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association (DI-AAA ADA) Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Hyde is the first female to repeat as the winner in the 12 years the award has been given. Joining Hyde on the Women’s Scholar-Athlete list is teammate Haley Seibert, one of three juniors selected.

Hyde and Seibert become the first teammates from the Summit League named to the I-AAA Scholar-Athlete team in the same season. Hyde also becomes the second player from the Summit League to be named a two-time honoree, joining Jessica Pike from former member institution Oakland.

“Our Association prides itself in honoring our student-athletes for both their on-field and academic achievements each year,” stated Tim Hall, chair of the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athlete Team Selection Committee and athletics director at the University of Maryland Baltimore County. “We want to congratulate this year’s scholar-athlete award winners, the scholar-athletes of the year and the Postgraduate Scholarship recipients for their outstanding accomplishments.”

Basketball players from all Division I-AAA ADA member institutions are eligible for these prestigious awards. Each of the nominees was required to have a minimum grade point average of 3.20 (on a 4.00 scale) in undergraduate study and have been a starter or important reserve with legitimate athletics credentials. Nominated student-athletes must have participated in at least 50 percent of the team’s games listed on the nomination form. To be eligible for nomination to the Scholar-Athlete Team, he/she must have reached junior academic standing at their institution (ineligible athletics transfers are not eligible).

From the Scholar-Athlete teams, one male and female student-athlete was selected as the Division I-AAA ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year. Receiving the women’s honor was Amanda Hyde, a mathematics major from IPFW, with a 3.97 GPA; while the men’s award went to Holton Hunsaker, an accounting major from Utah Valley University, with a 3.88 GPA.

About Division I-AAA ADA: Now in its 13th year, the Division I-AAA Athletics Directors Association’s mission is to enhance initiatives common to its Division I-AAA membership (the 99 Division I institutions that do not sponsor football), in particular, aspects related to their flagship basketball programs. For more information on the Division I-AAA ADA, please visit www.div1aaa-ada.com. The Division I-AAA ADA is administered by the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA), which is in its 49th year. For more information on NACDA and the 13 professional associations that fall under its umbrella, please visit www.nacda.com.

Women’s Scholar-Athlete Team


Amanda HydeIPFW3.970Mathematics/Minor Psychology

Haley SeibertIPFW3.980Communication Science and Disorders

Alexis Dobbs – American University – 3.810 – Public Health/Minor Biology

Jen Dumiak – American University – 3.940 – Mathematics & Economics

Sarah Hansen – Florida Gulf Coast University – 3.880 – Chemistry/Minor Mathematics

Katie Fox – St. Francis College Brooklyn – 4.000 – English & History

Dequesha McClanahan – Winthrop University – 3.339 – Exercise Science

Eilise O’Connor – University of Missouri Kansas City – 3.990 – Chemistry

Erin Shields – Saint Joseph’s University – 3.820 – Finance & Accounting

Kacie Sowell – Seattle University – 3.526 – Sports & Exercise Science


Scholar – Athlete of the Year: Amanda Hyde, IPFW


Men’s Scholar-Athlete Team

Name – University – GPA – Major

Richard Bader – Oakland University – 3.510 – Communications

Holton Hunsaker – Utah Valley University – 3.880 – Accounting

Malte Kramer – Pepperdine University – 4.000 – Economics

Walt Lemon Jr. – Bradley University – 3.380 – Psychology

John Stuart Mann – Belmont University – 3.510 – Economics/Minor Spanish

Ryan Nicholas – Pepperdine University – 3.520 – Psychology

Matthew Stainbrook – Xavier University – 3.343 – Finance

Thomas Van der Mars            University of Portland – 3.950 – Operations & Technology Management

Ethan Wragge – Creighton University – 3.220 – Finance, Marketing, Entrepreneurship

Corban Wroe – University of Hartford – 3.720 – Health Science/Physical Therapy


Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Holton Hunsaker, Utah Valley

Comments are closed.