MBB: Jasick Named Finalist For Hugh Durham Award

BOSTON – IPFW head men’s basketball coach Tony Jasick has been named as a finalist for the 2014 Hugh Durham Award, given to the nation’s top mid-major coach.

Jasick’s Mastodons set a program record with 25 wins, advancing to the second round of the CollegeInsider.com Tournament for the first time in program history.

The finalists include Mike Brennan (American), Rick Byrd (Belmont), Tim Clues (Iona), Steve Hawkins (Western Michigan), Bob Hoffman (Mercer), Ron Hunter (Georgia State), Tony Jasick (IPFW), Tod Kowalczyk (Toledo), Gregg Marshall (Wichita State), LeVelle Moton (North Carolina Central), Jeff Neubauer (Eastern Kentucky), Saul Phillips (North Dakota State), Monte Ross (Delaware), Brad Underwood (Stephen F. Austin), and Will Wade (Chattanooga).

The Hugh Durham Award is given annually to the nation’s top mid-major coach. The award is named in honor of Hugh Durham who had retired at the end of the 2004-05 season. Durham is one of just twelve coaches to have led two different programs to the NCAA Final Four (Florida State in 1972 and Georgia in 1983). He is the only coach among that group to have led both schools to their lone Final Four appearance.

The winner of the 2014 Durham award will be announced at the CollegeInsider.com Awards Banquet on April 4 in Dallas, site of the Division I Men’s Basketball Championship.

Comments are closed.