Maggard, Fisher Named To Junior All-Stars

3 Days of 100° Heat

Eighteen players have been selected for the Indiana girls Junior All-Stars for 2014.

Players in the core group include Jenna Allen and Dominique McBryde of Class 4A state champion Bedford North Lawrence, Lamina Cooper of Lawrence North, Victoria Gaines of Merrillville, Ali Patberg of Columbus North and Tori Schickel of Evansville Mater Dei.

The North group players are Josie Fisher of Homestead, Jordyn Frantz of NorthWood, Darby Maggard of Fort Wayne Canterbury, Michal Miller of Michigan City, Tiara Murphy of South Bend Washington and Nakeya Penny of Logansport.

The South group players are Kennedy Archer of Franklin Central, Alexa Bailey of Bedford North Lawrence, Olivia Crozier of Madison, Jordan Hankins of Lawrence North, Stephanie Sherwood of Evansville Memorial and Brittany Ward of Pike.

The coaches for the Junior All-Stars have not yet been announced.

The Junior All-Stars will play two games against the Kentucky Junior All-Stars on June 6 and June 7. The June 6 games will be at Scecina High School in Indianapolis, girls beginning at 5 p.m. and boys to follow. The June 7 games will be at a site in Lexington to be determined, girls beginning at 5 p.m. and boys to follow.

The Junior All-Stars also will play two games against the Indiana All-Star senior girls on June 9 and June 11. The sites and times for these game also will be announced later.

The players listed as core group players will play in all four games.

The players listed as North group players will join the core group for one game against Kentucky and one game against the Indiana seniors.

The players listed as South group players will join the core group for the other game against Kentucky and the other game against the Indiana seniors.

Assignments for the North and South groups for which dates will be made later.

The Indiana senior All-Stars will play the Kentucky senior All-Stars on June 13 at Transylvania University in Lexington and on June 14 at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis. Both nights, the girls’ game will begin at 5 p.m. and the boys will follow.

The Junior All-Star team is determined by the 22-member Indiana Basketball Coaches Association all-state panel in conjunction with its selection of the IBCA/Subway Underclass All-State Team. The selection process allows all IBCA-member head coaches the opportunity to vote for top players from schools on the traditional regional structure of the non-class tournament format. Representatives from each of those 16 regional areas, plus six at-large representatives from IHSAA districts (two each from District 1, District 2 and District 3), then meet to review those votes and finalize the selections.

A list of those chosen as 2014 girls Junior All-Stars follows.


2014 Girls Junior All-Stars


Jenna Allen, 6-3, F, Bedford North Lawrence

Lamina Cooper, 5-9, G/F, Lawrence North

Victoria Gaines, 6-0, F, Merrillville

Dominique McBryde, 6-2, F, Bedford North Lawrence

Ali Patberg, 5-10, G, Columbus North

Tori Schickel, 6-2, F, Evansville Mater Dei



   Josie Fisher, 5-5, G, Homestead

Jordyn Frantz, 6-0, G, NorthWood

    Darby Maggard, 5-5, G, Fort Wayne Canterbury

Michal Miller, 5-9, G, Michigan City

Tiara Murphy, 5-6, G, South Bend Washington

Nakeya Penny, 5-11, F, Logansport



Kennedy Archer, 5-10, G, Franklin Central

Alexa Bailey, 5-7, G, Bedford North Lawrence

Olivia Crozier, 6-1, F, Madison

Jordan Hankins, 5-7, G, Lawrence North

Stephanie Sherwood, 5-9, G/F, Evansville Memorial

Brittany Ward, 6-1, F, Pike

Comments are closed.