IPFW’s Evans Is League’s Top Sixth Man

IPFW freshman Mo Evans was named the Summit League Sixth Man of the Year, announced by the League office on Thursday afternoon, as Luis Jacobo and Steve Forbes were named to the All-League First and Second Teams, respectively. Additionally, Forbes and Evans were named to the Summit League All-Newcomer Team.

Evans, who came off the bench in each of the team’s 31 games this season, becomes the second Mastodon player to win the Sixth Man of the Year award, joining Deilvez Yearby who took the honor in 2008-09.

Jacobo becomes the second player in program history to be named First Team All-League, joining Frank Gaines who earned the honor in 2011-12 and 2012-13. Forbes’ second-team nod is the fourth all-time in program history, joining Jaraun Burrows (2007-08), Deilvez Yearby (2009-10), and Ben Botts (2010-11) to win second team honors. Forbes and Evans join Yearby (2008-09), and Jacobo (2012-13) as Mastodon players who have earned a spot on the All-Newcomer team.

Jacobo led the team in scoring by averaging a team-best 14.9 points per game during the season, while pulling down 124 rebounds (4.4 per game) and dishing out 35 assists. He led the team with 65 made three-point baskets – second in the League – while hitting on 40.6 percent of his shots from long range and 45.1 percent overall.

Forbes’ second team honor came after averaging 12.3 points and 5.1 rebounds per game, while hitting on 63.8 percent of his shots from the field. He led he team with 20 blocked shots, and made the two key free throws in the regular season finale to give the Mastodons a one-point overtime win over Omaha.

Evans averaged 9.6 points per game, while pulling down 89 rebounds and dishing out 57 assists. He shot 44.2 percent from long range – second in the league, while his 53 three-point makes ranked seventh overall.

The Mastodons open Summit League tournament play on Saturday, March 8, when the team faces off against in-state rival IUPUI in a 7 p.m. EST tip-off at the Sioux Falls Arena.

Comments are closed.